Metlife Reviews

Show reviews that mention
insurance policy customer service life claim customer service money life insurance people
Filter review
Most helpful review
My father worked for Met for 40 years. I've always had Metropolitan Insurance. I've had homes insured with Met for 25 years. So, I always had faith in Met. Until now. I had a roof leak at a rental house (1 of 2) and wasn't sure if insurance would cover it, I filed a...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2046566

MetLife will bend you over and drive it home every chance that you give them. So don’t!!!

ID
#2326471 Review #2326471 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Norfolk, Virginia

Not Paid for Moms Life Insurance policy! Its been almost 20 years since she passed!

MetLife Is a Fraud Insurance Company, Please do not invest any money in their policies. It has been 20 years since my mom died, and they never ever made an attempt to reach me like AAA did 2 Days after my mom passed! I found out about the policy 3 years ago, and they still haven't paid out. They have lied to me about even have me at the bank for nothing! They have continued to lie and string me along for 3 years now, still no payment! I don't believe they have any intention of paying me, so I'm in the process of contacting CNN and going public! They are Frauds! Please don't do any business with them!

User's recommendation: Do Not Invest any money In the Company!

View full review
ID
#2993599 Review #2993599 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Garden City, Michigan

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Wrong cash surrender value statement. Policy #956 51* *** as of Nov 13, 2019.

Metlife - Wrong cash surrender value statement. Policy #956 51* *** as of Nov 13, 2019.
Metlife - Wrong cash surrender value statement. Policy #956 51* *** as of Nov 13, 2019.
Dear Sir/Madam, I attached 2 cash surrender value statements from Metlife Insurance. I believe that the cash surrender value statement of Monachan Kochummen policy # 956 51* *** as of Nov 13, 2019, is wrong based on the following facts. As of May 12, 2019, the cash surrender value of this policy is $46,062,41. As of Nov 13, 2019, the cash surrender value of this policy is $35,750.00. As of Feb 25, 2020, the cash surrender value of this policy is $47,794.54. Around $12,000.00 difference. . And moreover, based on the other attached statement (Alvin's statement), this statement is missing one value "cash value of Al". So, send me the cash surrender value of policy #956 51* *** as of Nov 13, 2019, in the same format as in Alvin's insurance statement including the "cash value of Al".

User's recommendation: I do not know yet.

View full review
ID
#2992045 Review #2992045 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$12000
Preferred solution
Corrected Cash surrender value statement of policy #956 513 443 as of Nov 13, 2019. This statement should include the "cash value of Al" also .

They play games

My policy lapsed I called them sent a check to make current, they never received it, had the wrong address non stop issues with MetLife
View full review
ID
#2926248 Review #2926248 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New Orleans, Louisiana

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Refund

I have canceled my auto insurance in July. The woman on the phone said I over paid and I will be getting a refund check of 98.00 in 7 to 15 business days. I called back in 20 business days and this time a guy told me there is a glitch in the system, and he had to resend it again to the back office. I called for the 3rd time, something. Now I just called again today and this time the guy told me when they send it the first 3 times that they didn't send the cancelation the correct way. So, he resends it for the 4th time. I am not happy about this at all. My experience with MetLife was awful, and I will not recommend to any friends and family. All I want is the money, they own me.

User's recommendation: No recommend to anyone.

View full review
ID
#2896822 Review #2896822 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Useless
Loss
$98
Preferred solution
I would like to get my 98.00 refund

Pdf file

I am trying to withdraw from dividends. You sent me the forms in email in pdf format. I cannot fill out the forms in this extension. Please resend in a different format. Paul s. Pardue . Kenwood7000@***.com. so 8653
View full review
ID
#2851849 Review #2851849 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Corinth, Mississippi

Went up on my property for one claim

i had a storm and the sliding came off and they paid out for the claim and went up the next year 700 the next year
View full review
ID
#2831577 Review #2831577 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lanham, Maryland
New Reviewer

Have Cancer Insurance and Currently after Surgery & Radiation MetLife Does not respond to claim

Have Cancer Insurance and Currently after Surgery and Radiation MetLife Does not respond to claim, but still collect from my pay check

User's recommendation: stay away from metlife.

View full review
ID
#2816392 Review #2816392 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Niceville, Florida
Cons
  • Been robed for so many years
Loss
$15000

Forms

Hello My last two calls with customer service were good . It does take time to receive forms , a week after the call . Most of the time it take long time to speak to customer service. Could you implement a office in RI that works with annunities.So if there are questions people have a office to go to instead a long waits on the phone
View full review
ID
#2796456 Review #2796456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brooklyn, New York

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Reviewer of claim does not respond on a timely manner, most of all does not pay fully for expense paid by a subscriber

I fell and had surgery on my right shoulder, and also did rehab. I submitted all paperwork (hard copy) but claimed they did not receive original hard copy records that was submitted in Post Office paying one day delivery expedited, emailed copies, they paid minimum, now I wanted my Rehab co-pays reimbursed I got paid $25. So I called today, they claim they and ask they said they only got one copy, big lie, copy the copy However, I cc my selland it showede more

User's recommendation: Find another you will be happier or get an FSA that what I will do now open season is up MET life accident are.

View full review
ID
#2793306 Review #2793306 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • How they reimbursed their clients
  • Denied claim
Preferred solution
the amount that is due me.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

*** poor company to deal with

Twice a year for the past 4 years I have tried to get them to send instructions on how to change the amount of tax withheld. Nothing, nada, Zip.wtf???

User's recommendation: Find a reputable company to deal with.

View full review
ID
#2766127 Review #2766127 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Falls Church, Virginia
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Lack of integrity

Basically the ball was dropped from day one. mid june. Its now 8/11/2021; We have talked to at least 10 different people and still no resolution. Would be great for one person to own it and say "Hey we dropped the ball and this will be taken care of." AND then have it taken care of !" Sadly this situation has caused more distress during a "recovery time."

User's recommendation: sadly, probably not for short term disability issues.

View full review
ID
#2764593 Review #2764593 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wilton, New Hampshire

Filed a claim after 18 years of paying into the company

Please file a complaint with your State's Insurance department immediately. Keep filing here but filing with your States insurance department means that they have to act especially if there are a lot of people filing complaints. These people are criminals in the worst way.
View full review
ID
#2718807 Review #2718807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Seattle, Washington

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Gerber life insurance policy

Getting a ridiculous run around trying to process a life insurance policy claim from 1967 when my grandmother bought the policy. When she passed it went to my mother. My mother passed in April and none of us kids even knew about the policies until we started to sort through her legal files. It's been fully paid up but they keep sending confusing notices with policy holder names misspelled, the Executor of her estate is not correct, changes of address that was never authorized. Unable to get hold of a claims rep that called me and left VM today. Won't call me back. I've tried 4 times so far. Where's the accountability? These people are scammers!Do NOT di businessDD

User's recommendation: Do NOT do business with this company!

View full review
ID
#2677974 Review #2677974 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Gerber Life Insurance Account
Cons
  • Duplicate paperwork
  • Liars and cheats
  • Not reliable
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Auto renew policy didn't renew automatically; Customer service kind but didn't help at all

We have MetLife home and auto through my workplace. My policy which should auto renew (premium is deducted monthly from my paycheck), didn't renew this year and I discovered it quite by accident. I was told by customer service they'd get back with me in under 48 hours. It has now been over twice that long. I called again today. While the customer service reps (foreign) were kind, they have not been able to figure this out or resolve it.

User's recommendation: Find a different company (maybe growing pains in being acquired by Farmer's??).

View full review
ID
#2674651 Review #2674651 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Loganville, Georgia
New Reviewer

Customer Service

I called twice 5/26/2021 Alex refused to transfer me to a Supervisor - Alex put me on hold and did not return. I called back and spoke to Mary Catherine and she took all my information and I asked to be transferred to billing and she transferred me to Alex who hung up.
View full review
ID
#2572896 Review #2572896 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
I have been a customer for years and this is the WORST customer service ever!

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article